How Do I Downgrade or Cancel My Account?

November 19, 2019 Contributors

If you no longer wish to use SparkPost, you have two options: (1) downgrade to the free “Test” plan, or (2) cancel your account.

What’s the difference?

  • Downgrading to the free “Test” plan will keep your users, API keys, sending domains, etc., and you can later choose to upgrade back to a paid plan at any time to pick up where you left off. Downgrading is recommended for “seasonal senders” who don’t need to use SparkPost for several months in a row but who would like to pickup using SparkPost seamlessly in a few months.
  • Canceling your account will delete users, API keys, sending domains, etc. associated with your account. There is no way to restore these items after cancellation. Canceling is recommended for customers who do not intend to send with SparkPost again (we are sorry to see you go!). If you cancel and later decide to use SparkPost again, you will need to create a new account and reconfigure your sending domains, settings, etc.

Both downgrades and cancellations will take effect at the end of your current billing cycle.

To Downgrade, go to the Billing page in your SparkPost account and click “Change Plan”. Select the free “Test” plan from the dropdown menu.

To Cancel, go to the Account Settings page and click “Cancel Account”. If you decide you want to undo your cancellation before it takes effect (at the end of your current billing cycle), you can return to this same page to undo your cancellation. After the cancellation has occurred, there is no way to undo it and you will need to create a new account.

Please note: If you have a customized pricing account, please contact us to downgrade or cancel.